stylejilo.blogg.se

Organising photos on mac
Organising photos on mac








organising photos on mac
  1. #Organising photos on mac mac#
  2. #Organising photos on mac windows#

If everything is already contained in one large external drive, you can do this with minimum of work. But that means you have to be very careful how you track your photos.

#Organising photos on mac windows#

This will mimic how you likely handled it on the Windows side. Instead it will keep referring to them as external to the database. IF YOU LIKE: you can change the default behavior of Photos and tell it to NOT "COPY" the pictures you add to the library. It is not 'one file' - it is a database consisting of all the pics and various other files to maintain the entire Photos experience. Photos App can easily handle large libraries, as opposed to the older apps that had problems with certain limits. Test what the app can do with a smaller library to familiarise with the app.Option to keep photos as separate files and do not “Copy” into Library.macOS Photo library is not a single file, rather a container and can handle large Libraries.

organising photos on mac

#Organising photos on mac mac#

Can the default Mac photos app handle such collection smoothly? Understanding the Photos library consists of a single file, do you have any adverse experiences (e.g slowness, corruption etc) with the Mac Photos app? What would be the best way to import & organise albums and folders from my current Windows folder structure (I have folders and sub folders for photo library organisation in Windows)Įdit: thanks so much for all the replies, so in summary:

organising photos on mac

Will try to dig into it again and see if I was doing something wrong.Is the default Mac Photos app the best to use for a large photo collection? (Talking in the terabytes) I’m finally switching to a Mac from windows, and I have tens of thousands of personal photos and family videos taking upwards of 1Tb. I really wanted to move to Apple Photos but it just wasn’t working as I had hoped.

  • We also open Google Photos and that backs up all photos to their individual Google Photo accounts.
  • Yes, I could do by year/month but chose not to.
  • Every month or so, I go through those photos and put them in the relevant “event” folder.
  • On my Desktop, Hazel takes the photos via Dropbox in those folders and puts them in the taxonomy I described above in the current year folder.
  • Each person opens Dropbox and it uploads copies of photos to each person’s shared “Camera Uploads” folder.
  • organising photos on mac

    Each person has Dropbox and Google Photos apps installed on their iPhones and they open up them every few weeks to sync their photos. My workflow includes the need to add photos that my wife and kids take to that taxonomy structure, so I use Dropbox and Hazel to help process this workflow. I have ~20 years of original digital photos organized by Year and Event and I want to keep that taxonomy and approach intact, and I want to have access to the ‘master’ photo files/images. Maybe I was doing something wrong with Apple Photos but it just wasn’t working as I had thought it would and was too exhausting to think about adapting my workflows. I bought the extra storage space from Apple/iCloud this year (after listening to the MPU #537 episode) with the hopes of fully migrating to Apple Photos but I gave up after getting completely frustrated by iCloud double and triple syncing photos with my desktop Apple Photos app and Apple Photos not syncing with iCloud if I kept my taxonomy as is. I have been doing this dance between Google Photos and Apple Photos / iCloud for as long as Google Photos as been around and it is so frustrating.










    Organising photos on mac